ISSTC 2013

Transmission Drift

Transmissions enable us to experience ideas, energy, data, sounds, events and art from distant and long ago places. In negating temporal and physical boundaries, transmissions sustain traditions between generations and broadcast across borders.

The act of transmission is simultaneously cultural, technological and political, but it is never simple, because transmission requires both senders and receivers, and meanings frequently drift between the two. Messages are distorted, drowned in noise, re-discovered and interpreted, censured, forgotten and forbidden.

Mediated and buffeted by the motions of fashion, genre, bandwidth and fidelity, electromagnetic transmissions are an ever-increasing constant. Electromagnetic frequency bands can be commercialised, purchased and sold, making the content of broadcasts answerable to financial enterprise.

How, as artists, composers, writers and scientists of sound, might we engage with the concept of transmission?

The third annual Irish Sound, Science and Technology Convocation (ISSTC) will be held August 28-29, 2013 at the Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art and Design in Dún Laoghaire.


Transmission in Transformation

keynote by Darren Copeland

The past ten years has seen an increasing diversity of methods for transmitting sound art to an audience. The gallery exhibition, the radio broadcast, and the concert performance are but a few of the available options but these are no longer the principle cornerstones. Innovative uses of interactivity and gaming structures, as well as the increased use of networked/online contexts, site specificity, and interdisciplinary methodologies, have diversified the ways sound art is shared with audiences.  This has created a demand for new approaches to presentation by presenters such as NAISA.  This presentation will provide an overview of various ways that Canadian sound artists have presented their works as well as how New Adventures in Sound Art has developed various presentation contexts over the past ten years in response to this growing diversity by offering innovations of its own design.

Darren Copeland is a Canadian Sound Artist creating work for radio, performance, and installation with a focus on soundscape composition and multichannel spatialization. He has explored both abstract and referential sound materials in his fixed media compositions, and many of these works are published on the empreintes DIGITALes label. He is the Artistic Director of New Adventures in Sound Art, a year-round presenter of sound art at the Artscape Wychwood Barns in Toronto.  NAISA’s programming is comprehensive and covers the entire spectrum of sound art from sound installations, to radio and concert presentations, and new emerging media.


Wednesday, 28 August

8:30 Registration
9:00 Neil Smyth, A New Interface for Real Time Granular Synthesis Control, Darach Lennon, A Gesturally Controlled, Interactive Timbre Space for the Control of a Granular Synthesizer, Richard Graham, Brian Bridges, Loose Coupling and Gestural Structures in Special Music Performance Systems
10:30 Break
11:00 Workshop: Nicholas Ward, Giuseppe Torre, Data Transmission and Mapping Strategies for Live Performances
12:30 Lunch break
13:30 Stephen Roddy, Dermot Furlong, Rethinking the Transmission Medium in Live Computer Music Performance, Robin Parmar, Radio Before and After Radio Waves, Tony Langlois, Towards a Peoples’ Soundscape in Limerick
15:00 Break
15:30 Artwalk. Richard Carr, HomeBird, Ramona Stout, Alyssa Moxley, Still Here, Guillaume Chappez, Dark Water, Robin Parmar, Ouroboros, Lisa Reburn, Waveguides, Michael Mroz, Syllogism
18:00 Reception
19:30 Concert: Cormac Crawley, Magnetoreception, Sergio Andrés Santi, From the 9th Floor, Aidan Deery, Manoeuvre, Brona Martin, The Thing About Listening is…, James Andean, Between the Leaves, Tony Doyle, Universal Theme, Ka Yau Lau, Behind My Living, Gerard Gormley, Bunker, Steve McCourt, Ac-1, Daria Baiocchi, Sospeso, Jenn Kirby, Alphabet Song, Linda O’Keeffe, Baseline

Thursday, 29 August

8:30 Registration
9:00 Alan McCarthy, Musical Apps as Art?, Tony Doyle, Perceptual Effects Associated with the Spatialization of Partials in a Multichannel Audio Environment, Milad Mozari, Historical (dis)continuity: early electronic music from Iran, Patrick Macklin, Heima in Two Apartments
11:00 Break
11:30 Keynote Speaker/Performer
13:00 Lunch break
14:00 Concert: Ayako Sato, sen no kioku, Roberto Zanata, Music in Danger, Mark Lyken, Wetland, Thais Montanari, Cala, Dan Tramte, Euthanasia, Lorenzo Troiani, We Are All Destroyed, Ruud Roelofsen, Evocation
15:30 Break
16:00 ISSTA Annual General Meeting
17:30 Dinner Break
19:00 Concert: Kim Griffith, The Sound of Rain Needs No Translation, Eleanor Stewart, xxxx, Mike Bullock, Ritual for the Alleviation of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Fears, For Chris Marker, Manuela Blackburn, Switched On, Xo Xinh, Duedecim, Neil O’Connor, Erstwhile, Thomas McConville, puds ad break, Interlude One, Qware, a bigger bounce, Pikachu Cadaver – Outro, Brew (Puds Part 2), Natalia Beylis, Aonghus McEvoy, For Cassettes, Ears and Hands, Softday, Re-mediating Amhran na Beacha (Song of the Bees) #1
After Party

Accommodation and Travel

Dún Laoghaire can be accessed via DART and Dublin Bus from Dublin.


Access to the Institute of Art, Design and Technology is provided by Dublin Bus 46a and 75. These routes run from Dublin to Dún Laoghaire city centre. The routes and timetables can be found here: 46a and 75.


There are regular DART/Commuter trains from Dublin (Connolly Station) to Dún Laoghaire city centre. A timetable is available on the Irish Rail website or here.

Hotels, B&Bs in Dún Laoghaire

Kingston Hotel

Royal Marine Hotel

Mulgrave Lodge

Tara Hall Guest House

Selection Committee

Chair of Papers: Andrew Power
Co-chairs of Music: Anthony Kelly, Geoffrey Perrin
Chair of Sound Art/Installation: Sean Taylor
Chair of Workshops: Mikael Fernström

President: Kerry Hagan
Vice-President: Tony Langlois
Secretary: Linda O’Keeffe
Treasurer: Giuseppe Torre


Gareth Averill
Roger Doyle
Alan Dunn
Mikael Fernström
Anthony Kelly
Vivienne Long
Danny McCarthy
Sean McCrum
Mick O’Shea
Robin Parmar
Geoffrey Perrin
Lioba Petrie
Andrew Power
Jay Roche
David Stalling
Sean Taylor

Interference Journal

This year, papers may be selected for expansion and publication in Interference.

DAFX ’13

This year, music submissions may be selected for presentation at DAFX ’13.